Minutes of the Annual General Meeting CMSA (Inc.)

Held via Zoom at CMSA Day

12:00 AEST on Tuesday 15th December, 2020.

Present:

Michael Albert, John Bamberg, Robert Bailey, Darryn Bryant, Yudhi Bunjamin, Nick Cavenagh, Marston Conder, Alice Devillers, Stephen Glasby, Amy Glen, Catherine Greenhill, Micheal Guidici, Sara Herke, Daniel Horsley, David Hui, Mikhail Isaev, Nina Kamčev, Paul Leopardi, Anita Liebenau, Simone Linz, Barbara Maenhaut, Dillon Mayhew, Kevin McAvaney, Brendan McKay, Jeanette McLeod, Cheryl Praeger, Ian Roberts, Jamie Simpson, Makai Tamas, Tzvetalin Vassilev, Ian Wanless, David Wood, Nicholas Wormald, Sanming Zhou

The meeting was chaired by Jeanette McLeod (CMSA President).

(1) Apologies:

Apologies were received from Elizabeth Billington and Sheila Williams.

(2) Confirmation of Minutes of 2019 Annual General Meeting

Minutes were accepted (Jeanette McLeod).

(3) Council's Report

The Council's Report for 2020 was presented by Jeanette McLeod (CMSA President).

The council's report was accepted (Daniel Horsley/Ian Wanless).

Jeanette McLeod congratulated John Bamberg, Michael Giudici and Gordon Royle on the award of the Gavin Brown Prize of the Australian Mathematical Society, and thanked the organisers of CMSA Day.

(4) Treasurer's Report.

The <u>Financial Report</u> (as at 30 June 2020) was presented by Sara Herke (CMSA Treasurer).

The financial report was accepted (Anita Liebenau/Nick Cavenagh).

Marston Conder raised the possibility of investing CMSA funds in a Managed Fund Investment or similar, as a means of achieving better returns than bank term deposits. A discussion took place and it was agreed that CMSA council would look further into this in 2021. There was also extremely strong support for seeking out ethical investment options.

(5) Appointment of Auditor.

Andrew Whyte from "Whyte Group" was appointed auditor for 2020-2021 financial year (Sara Herke/Catherine Greenhill).

(6) Election of Members of CMSA (Inc.) Council for 2021.

Jamie Simpson was appointed Returning Officer and all present council members stepped down from office. The following members were unanimously elected.

Position	Nominee	Nominator	Seconder
President	B. McKay	J. Simpson	S. Herke
Vice President	J. Bamberg	D. Mayhew	J. Simpson
Treasurer	S. Herke	A. Glen	A. Liebenau
Secretary	D. Bryant	A. Liebenau	S. Herke
Council Members	M. Albert A. Glen C. Greenhill A. Liebenau J. Seberry J. Simpson	D. Bryant D. Mayhew D. Mayhew J. Simpson A. Liebenau D. Mayhew	S. Zhou I. Wanless M. Albert C. Greenhill B. McKay C. Greenhill
	S. Zhou	M. Albert	D. Mayhew

(7) Other Business.

Membership fees were discussed and a motion was passed that beginning January 1 2022, CMSA fees be increased to \$35 for annual membership and \$420 for life membership. David Wood expressed an opinion that the life membership fee was too high. There was one vote against the motion.

(8) Close of Meeting.

The meeting closed at 12:55.

...00000000...