Minutes of the Annual General Meeting CMSA (Inc.)

Held at 35ACCMCC, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

5.30 p.m. on Monday 5 December 2011.

Present:

Julian Abel, John Bamberg, Frank Bennett, Elizabeth J. Billington, Michael Brand, Nick Brettell, Thomas Britz, Darryn Bryant, Benjamin Burton, Peter Cameron, Nick Cavenagh, Carolyn Chun, Ben Clark, Diana Combe, Alessandro Conflitti, Keith Edwards, Anthony B. Evans, David Fear, Jerzy Filar, Amy Glen, Michael Giudici, Catherine Greenhill, Michael Haythorpe, Sarada Herke, Daniel Horsley, Mohammadreza Jooyandeh, Thomas Kalinowski, Mitch Keller, Paul Leopardi, Charles Little, Dillon Mayhew, Arun Mani, Kevin McAvaney, Brendan McKay, Ivan Miljenovic, Marsha Minchenko, Hamid Mokhtar, Kerri Morgan, Adrian Nelson, Mike Newman, Padraig Ó Catháin, Judy-anne Osborn, William Palmer, William Pettersson, Cheryl E Praeger, Gordon Royle, Ernest Ruet d'Auteuil, Leanne Rylands, Uwe Schwerdtfeger, Periyasamy Selvaraju, Jamie Simpson, Michael Snook, Gunter Steinke, Don Taylor, Petr Vojtechovsky, Ian Wanless, Bridget Webb, David Wood, Xiande Zhang, Sanming Zhou.

The meeting was chaired by Catherine Greenhill (CMSA President).

(1) Apologies:

Apologies were received from Peter Adams, Robert Aldred, Rebecca Gower, Chris Rodger.

(2) Confirmation of Minutes of 2010 Annual General Meeting

Minutes were accepted (Ian Wanless/Elizabeth Billington).

(3) Council's Report

The <u>Council's Report</u> for 2011 was read by Catherine Greenhill.

The council's report was accepted (Judy-anne Osborn/Ernest Ruet d'Auteil).

(4) Treasurer's Report.

The <u>Financial Report</u> (as at 30 June 2011) was presented by Catherine Greenhill on behalf of Peter Adams (the Treasurer).

The financial report was adopted (Judy-anne Osborn/David Wood).

(5) Appointment of Auditor.

Whytes Accountants and Business Advisors was appointed auditor for the coming year (Darryn Bryant/Ian Wanless).

(6) Election of Members of CMSA (Inc.) Council for 2012.

John Bamberg was appointed Returning Officer and all present council members stepped down from office.

The following members were unanimously elected (John Bamberg/Daniel Horsley).

Position	Nominee	Nominator	Seconder
President	C. Greenhill	D. Bryant	J. Osborn
Immediate Past-President	R. Aldred		
]

CMSA AGM 2011

Vice President	D. Wood	I. Wanless	C. Greenhill
Treasurer	P. Adams	E. Billington	R. Aldred
Secretary	D. Bryant	C. Little	R. Aldred
Council Members		E. Billington J. Osborn C. Greenhill K. McAvaney	B. McKay M. Brand G. Royle S. Zhou C. Praeger E. Billington

(7) Other Business.

Catherine Greenhill opened discussions on the possibility of making the Australasian Journal of Combinatorics (AJC) a free online journal and noted the following points:-

AJC subscriptions are the primary source of income for the CMSA.

CMSA funds now exceed \$100,000 and the treasurer has done some projections indicating that these funds would last for many years in the absence of AJC subscription revenue and printing costs.

Making the AJC a free online journal is likely to increase citations and improve the overall standing of the journal.

A lengthy general discussion took place. The move to a free online AJC was widely supported in general, and very strongly supported by some. It was noted that there may be a demand for print copies in some regions where access to the online version is limited, and that there may be ongoing costs associated with IT support and infrastructure for a free online AJC.

The following motion was proposed by Ernie Ruet d'Auteil, seconded by Michael Giudici, and passed unanimously.

"That a full cost and feasibility analysis be made of the proposal to make AJC freely available online and that this analysis be circulated to CMSA members. That there then be a call for submissions on this proposal and that the CMSA Council subsequently make a decision."

(8) Close of Meeting.

The meeting closed at 6:38pm.

...00000000...